Skip to Content

Purpose of policy

This policy is designed to ensure that all content published on Department of Communities and Justice (DCJ) websites is accessible for all users, regardless of physical and cognitive ability. The policy came into effect on 1 January 2016.

Accessible website content is inclusive content that can be read and understood by everyone, regardless of ability. Our goal at DCJ is to become a leader in the area of accessible content.

Website accessibility involves creating and structuring website content so that it can be navigated, read or experienced by users regardless of disability.

Disabilities can be visual, auditory, physical, speech-related, cognitive or neurological. Our content needs to be accessible for those using screen readers and assistive technology as well as different devices whether that is a desk top computer, mobile device or lap top.

Our content should also be clear, well written and comprehensible by our clients regardless of educational level, English language skills or cultural background.

DCJ is obliged by law to have broad compliance with mandated website accessibility standards.

Background and directives

Accessibility is mandated

The Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) were developed in cooperation with individuals and organisations from around the world. WCAG aims to provide a universal standard for web content accessibility.

The NSW Government’s Circular on Website Management directed departments and agencies to streamline their websites to focus on customer needs, including meeting mandated accessibility requirements (the WCAG 2.0 Level AA standard) by December 2014.

The federal government mandates all Australian, state and territory government websites to meet WCAG 2.0 Level AA  compliance.

Was this content useful?
Your rating will help us improve the website.
Last updated: 28 Oct 2020